CSA free-for-all dinner tonight

IMG_9144

We got a beautiful share this week: carrots, beets, tomatillos, green onions, lettuce, and mixed herbs.  The sage in the herb bundles came from my garden–my first CSA sale!  Next week I’m providing the garlic share…I better get to cleaning up my garlic after work this week so it’s ready!

On my way back to work after the CSA I stopped by the community garden to check on the zucchini.  We got a ton of rain on Monday and I wanted to check in on things; my garden partner was out there on Sunday and she told me I’d probably have a few squashes to pick.  She was right!  The rain caused them to swell up something crazy and I plucked 5 monster squashes, a mix of yellow squash, green zucchini, and a striped zuke (my new favorite zucchini variety: Striata d’Italia).  I still had a couple striped ones in the fridge from late last week, so I decided I’d better use them for dinner tonight.  I sorta-kinda-not-really had a plan formulating in my head today for what I was going to do with all these produce goodies.  The list of ingredients went something like this:  3 squashes (1 of each variety), 1 bulb of garlic, 1 bunch of green onions, a handful of tomatillos, 2 or 3 carrots, a package of fresh penne from last week’s share, and a half pint jar of homemade arugula pesto with cilantro.  I also threw in some salt, a dash of chipotle pepper powder, and feta cheese.  I just sautéed everything in my big cast iron skillet until the squashes were nice and softened and a little browned, then I added the cooked pasta and pesto.  Mixed everything together well and topped it with the feta just before serving.  The dish itself isn’t particularly beautiful, but it was pretty darn tasty.

IMG_9147

I thought I’d made a ton of this, with the intention of having lunch leftovers for a few more days this week, but after Hubby, Stepdaughter #2, and I did our damage, there wasn’t nearly as much left over as I thought there would be.  But there’s still enough for each of us to have lunch tomorrow, and I am looking forward to lunch tomorrow!

This entry was posted in CSA, Fod, Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to CSA free-for-all dinner tonight

Leave a comment